Candidate Tournaments title

Candidates Tournaments have been organized by the World Chess Federation (FIDE) since 1948 to determine the challenger for the world Chess championship. The cycle starts when the world's best Chess players face off in one or more interzonal tournaments. Players finishing with the highest scores in these interzonal tournaments qualified into a series of elimination matches known as the candidates tournament. The number of qualified top players from this candidates tournament varies from eight to fifteen players. The winner earns the right to a match for the world championship against the incumbent world champion. Current world champion is Magnus Carlsen.

 Candidates Tournament  Winners


-------- --- -------- 2016 Karjakin, Sergey


Viswanathan Anand 2013 Magnus Carlsen 2011 Boris Gelfand


Viswanathan Anand 1990 Anatoly Karpov 1988  Anatoly Karpov


Gary Kasparov 1980 Viktor Korchnoi 1977 Viktor Korchnoi


 Anatoly Karpov 1971 Robert James Fischer 1968 Boris Spassky


Boris Spassky 1962 Tigran Petrosian 1959 Mikhail Tal


Vasily Smyslov 1953 Vasily Smyslov 1950 David Bronstein

back      up      forward

Home  |  Chess Gallery  |  Chess Poster  |  Contact us  |  Español